Some of my favorite books.

Some of my favorite books.

I used to read a lot when I was younger. My grandmother was very into reading and got me into it. When I had to read for school my grandmother was so excited. For 30 minutes a day, we would read our books together. She would always catch me when I had “accidentally” fallen asleep. She was someone that really inspired me to use my imagination. Without her constantly pushing me I wouldn’t be the person I am today. If I was interested in a book, she would immediately pick it up for me to read. My interest in story telling and creating stories wouldn’t be the same without her.

During those reading sessions is where I found some of my favorite books (I will include links to the books if you’re interested):

The Cirque Du Freak series: This series is heart wrenching and very enjoyable. The main character Darren and his best friend Steve go to an underground circus. They see many horrors there, but one stands out. For Darren a spider named Madam Octa that is controlled by a small flute. For Darren’s best friend Steve it is the tall familiar figure holding the flute.

The Demonata series: Having been written by the same author as Cirque Du Freak I was ready to have my heart broken. However, this series is more disturbing and terrifying. For Grubbs Grady (not the best name), life becomes a literal living hell.

A Series of Unfortunate Events series: This series was the start of my interest in reading. From the first book “The Bad Beginning” I was immediately hooked. Each book follows the story of the Baudelaire children and their means to escape the deadly Count Olaf.

All Quiet on the Western Front: I had to read this for my ninth grade English honors class. From the second I picked up this sad book, I couldn’t put it down. It’s a great book that allows you the chance to feel the horrors of war.

I recommend reading these books. They have definitely inspired me. While these books are mostly horror and sad, they’re still wonderful reads.

354 words

Leave a Reply

